Maltese vs Yorkie - Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums

SpoiledMaltese.com is the premier Maltese Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Spoiledmaltese is a resource and forum for information and help with your Maltese. We do not support or endorse the selling of animals on this site.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2006, 06:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
Maltese Guru

Name: Janet
Dog's Name: Winnie

I realize this forum might be a bit biased towards the Maltese , but I know many of the posters here have both types of dogs so hoping you can shed some light on the diferences between the breeds generally speaking. I've been researching toy breeds for a few months now and it seems the maltese fits most of my requirements I'd like in a dog: non shedding, loving, sweet, intelligent. Still, I've always thought Yorkies were just adorable. I'm especially drawn to their coloring (I'm a little fearful of an all white dog from a maintenance standpoint) and their little upright ears. I realize every dog has a unique personality, but can someone tell me the basic differences in these two dogs as far as temperment, training ability, energy level, level of independence, grooming requirements, general health(?) Maybe someday I can have one of each, but for a first puppy experience, would you recommend one above the other?

thanks!

garrettsmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-01-2006, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Maltese Guru

Name: Linda
Dog's Name: Bonnie Marie, my angel and Bellarata's Bounces with Wolves, Bounce - St. Patrick's Baby!