Extremely smelly gas - Maltese Dogs Forum : Spoiled Maltese Forums

SpoiledMaltese.com is the premier Maltese Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Spoiledmaltese is a resource and forum for information and help with your Maltese. We do not support or endorse the selling of animals on this site.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-28-2008, 10:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Maltese Guru

Name: Claudia
Dog's Name: Jack & Jill

Jack's gas smells like rotten eggs - yuck! And the smell lingers forever! But Jill does not and they eat everything exactly the same. Is this typical? Is there anything I can give him to reduce the smell?

Old 08-29-2008, 12:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Maltese Guru

I'm not certain at all what your smelly gas means but I recently found that both my dogs needed their anal glands expressed (I've been grooming them myself for 3 months) and that one of them did have extra smelly gas in advance of this. Next time you go to the groomers, ask to be sure they are doing it. One certain sign of needing this is that the dogs 'scoot' on their butts. Is your pup doing this as well?

Otherwise I'd have to say it's all about the food. Have you introduced any new foods or treats lately?

good luck, mary anna herk and theena
makettle29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2008, 01:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Maltese Guru

The Buttercup used to have frequent gas-attacks that could not only clear out a room, but command an appearance by a Haz-Mat crew. So bad, in fact, that I would end up opening my bedroom window at night. In December. While the snow was coming down so thick I couldn't see a foot past the windowsill. But that window stayed open until I could breathe cleanly again.
(The Buttercup would like to defend herself here: Okay, and ONCE... she blamed me but it was ACTUALLY a skunk who was p*ssed off and sprayed the trashcan in the back yard... yeah, serves her right that her car smelled like skunk and NOT Buttercupgas for DAYS! ha!)